Gateway to Antarctica

Nov 2023

Common air, sea and land routes to the frozen continent.

The Southern Hemisphere gateway cities of Christchurch (NZ), Hobart (AUS), Cape Town (SA), Punta Arenas and Ushuaia (South America) are commonly used to access the large number of research stations in Antarctica. Some routes are chosen for their geographic proximity to their founding countries, while other routes are influenced by geopolitical considerations, friendly or otherwise.

About this map

Data: Esri, Natural Earth, REMA, COMNAP, various national Antarctic programmes

Created for the 30 Day Map Challenge 2023.